• Need advice?
    Send us an e-mail and we will post our responses here
  • The Lineup

    THE JON: Founder and the most successful fantasy baseballer in the group. Favorite players owned, Vladimir Guerrero, Ichiro, Johan Santana and Roy Halladay. READ
  • NEWSPAPERMAN:
    He loves you and he loves fantasy baseball. Favorite team, the Red Sox. Spends his day drawing hearts around Mr. David Wright and Mrs. Newspaperman Wright. READ
  • THE OZ: Has been a buster ever since winning TheBaseballStars inaugural season. Favorite team, the A's. Best keeper, Alex Rodriguez. READ
  • FREESANJOSE: The sworn enemy of The Jon, FreeSanJose is the most versatile of the group when it comes to team strategy. Favorite team, the A's. Best keepers, Chase Utley and Ryan Howard. READ
  • POIDOG: Makes the playoffs every year. Has never won a title. Favorite team, the A's. Best players, Jake Peavy and Miguel Cabrera. Still crying over the Dan Haren trade. READ
  • Blog Stats

    • 38,816 believers
  • Bashing The Great Fernando Vina

    With the apparent downfall of everyone's favorite ESPN baseball "analyst," here are some of our favorite excerpts on Mr. Double-Breasted suit. READ
  • Meta

The Live Opening Day Blog is coming

After thinking about things for a few days, I’ve decided to attempt the third annual Live Opening Day blog. As best as possible, I’ll be blogging about the happenings of the first full day of the 2009 season, from the first pitch of the first game to the last one of the latest game. If you’re unfamiliar with the Opening Day blog, check out seasons past here (2008) and here (2007). I write these things for TheBaseballStars.com, and this year I will do so again. (I also run another blog, one focused mainly on baseball cards — it can be found at www.cardboardicons.com) I tend to write frequently, often times about whatever is on my mind. If you’re stuck at work on Monday — the REAL Opening Day — and need updates, don’t worry, I’ve got you covered. Got questions? Just leave a comment and I’ll answer them as soon as possible.

As it is right now, I’m sitting here watching the Braves and Phillies Opening NIGHT game on ESPN and being a Brett Myers fantasy owner, I’m pissed. I’m even more perplexed by the fact that Myers is reluctant to throw his damn fastball, which sets everything else up. You know things are not going you way when Brian McCann takes you into the second deck, Jeff Francoeur lights you up and skinny-as-a-toothpick Jordan Schafer goes deep in his first Major League at-bat.

A couple things of interest:

* Did the Phillies add gold trim to their jersey patch? It looks almost Rainbow Bright-ish

*With Ryan Howard’s monster spring, where can his 2003 Bowman’s Best rookie go in terms of demand. Remember when those things were SELLING for $600? I still feel like the $150 I paid for mine was a bargain … I guess.

*This is the most ESPN I’ve watched since 2008. Thanks to the MLB Network (MLBN) I’ve not had to change the channel for anything but a few World Baseball Classic games and this Opening Night beatdown by the Braves. (Note: Just as I wrote that sentence, Yunel Escobar launched a double that should have been a home run.)

*Poor White Sox and Royals fans. I can’t imagine what it’s like to wait all winter and spring for Opening Day and then have to wait an extra day. In case you msised it, the Royals-White Sox game scheduled for Monday has been postponed due to rain. They’ve rescheduled for Tuesday. Ugh.

Leave a comment